Public talk: Profitable and Unprofitable Acres

Feature Image: Landscape with farm building, John Glover, c. 1835. NLA.


This week I was invited to speak in the Tasmanian Historical Research Association’s series of monthly talks, and ended up as the first speaker for the year. I spoke on colonial land granting practices, and focussed especially on the significance of waterways.

The talk was recorded, and is available online. I’ve put the powerpoint slides below as well, so you can click along. Just a note, my smartwatch registered almost this entire talk as a workout, so you will need to imagine me waving my arms quite a lot for the full experience.

 

One thought on “Public talk: Profitable and Unprofitable Acres

Add yours

  1. Very interesting, thanks Imogen.

    I note that your slide number 25 shows year land grants were given for various blocks in the Bothwell district. I’m familiar with some of the blocks at the lower edge of your Slide 25 graphic and suggest that the dates indicated are a little ‘late’. Many of those block were located to people who finally received their official grant in June 1823. My ancestor purchased his block (while still a ticket of leave convict!) from his master (Thomas Wells) in early 1823 (I have a copy of the receipt!). Of little matter, and your point about river/stream alignment remains valid, as those blocks aligned with the Dew Rivulet/Jones Marsh.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑